“Excuse me ma’am, can you tell me your relation to the baby?”

I was jolted out of my trance.  I looked around and saw no one beside me.

The nurse was obviously talking to me.

“Uh…I’m sorry.  What was the question again? I thought you were talking to someone else.”

I saw the nurse frowned quite exasperated with me.  Yet, she had no choice but to ask the same question again.

After what seemed like forever, I had to force the dreaded word out. Almost choking, it was finally released very softly.

“I’m the grandmother.”

If someone would have told me that at age 40 I will be a grandma, I would have literally choke them.

I can still remember that day when my eldest daughter called.  I just finished baking Butterscotch, Food for the Gods and Moist brownies for my customer when I got that phone call.

“Ma, I need to tell you something…”

Intuition told me something was going on.  In fact, I sort of knew in my heart what it was about.  I was not shocked.  In fact, I can fairly say I took the news pretty well.  For the next several months after, I even find it quite amusing that I will be a grandma before I turn 40.  My concern then was on my pregnant daughter who was living far from me.  As the inevitable day drew near, I was living on the edge.  I get hyped up with simple things.  I snapped and bit almost everyone’s head at home.  I jumped whenever my phone rings expecting the worst.  I was scared.

For someone who has been through so much drama in her life, she’s scared to be a grandma.

Finally, the day came I got a call that my daughter was brought to the hospital.  I had to pull some strings just so I could take the next flight out to be near her.  When I arrived at the hospital, I rushed to my daughter and hugged her.  Hiding my own fear, I kept assuring her everything will be alright.  Her doctor told me there is no other choice but to have a C-section for labor is not progressing due to the baby’s cord coil.

“We need to do it now or it might be too late.” Her doctor told me.

After almost two hours waiting outside the operating room, the nurse finally came out congratulating us.

Baby Holly Gillian is safe and healthy! Her mommy is doing well too.

We all breathe a sigh of relief.  With a silent prayer, I thanked God for His mercy and grace.  I was then tasked to go to the hospital’s Admitting section to provide the baby’s information, which is where I am now.

Dazed at the same time excited, I cannot find the right words to express what I was going through that very moment.  I did not expect events to happen this quick.  Apparently, the past months were more of a denial time on my part.  I cannot even get the words out, for crying out loud!

Chiding myself silently, I realized my feet brought me to the nursery section of the hospital.  My eyes zeroed in on a bundle in pink.  Sleeping so peacefully, she was a sight to behold! Her eyes were closed while her cheeks pinkish.  She had dark mop of hair in her head and when her lips moved, I saw dimples! At that very moment, I felt a rush of emotion that brought tears to my eyes. This is my granddaughter and I am very, very blessed to be a grandma!

I realized at forty, I can still take care of Holly; babysit if needed, play with her, go shopping with her and even stay up late at night chatting with her about boys.  In fact, I can be the best grandmother she can ever have!

 

