Praying is talking to God.  The pouring of our hearts to the Almighty Father, knowing and believing that He is there listening and understanding.  All my life God has been my strength and refuge.  In so many times that I felt lost, I just have to call out His name “Abba! Father!”  I know He is there taking my hand and guiding me towards the light.  Unlike in the old testament in the Bible, God is seen as a God to be feared.  In my life and my own testimony, God is my Father.  He is loving, kind and forgiving-ever patient and faithful.  Prayer has been my direct line to God.  It is through prayer that I can pour out everything that I feel, no pretensions, no inhibitions-and God listens and understands.

To some, praying seems so complicated.  But in truth, it is simply talking to God. Praying is like talking to your best friend-a person you know who loves you sincerely making it easy to pour out what is in your heart.  Only, this friend is someone you can’t see.  Through faith and the Holy Spirit, you will feel God’s presence while praying.  How then should we pray?

Ask for forgiveness.  it is just like presenting yourself to a King.  Before you ask for his audience, you want to look your best.  You go home and cleanse yourself and wear your best clothes before meeting the King.  It is the same way with God.  He is the King of all kings.  Before we present ourselves, we need spiritual cleansing.  Asking forgiveness for all the wrongs we have done not only to God, to others but to ourselves is the cleansing process of our soul.

Tell him all your needs.  “Give all your cares and worries to God, for He cares about what happens to you” (1 Peter 5:7)  This is such a comfort knowing that God cares for us!  There are so many verses in the Bible that talks about how God loves us even when we were still in our mother’s womb; how he knows us personally despite the many who calls out for Him.  Most of all, He knows all our needs, what we are going through and what is inside the deepest recesses of our hearts.

Be thankful.  “For God so love the world (us), that He gave His only Son to die for us”  God loves us so much that He allowed His only Son to die for us.  The death of Jesus has opened the way for us to communicate freely to God.  Being thankful not only in good times but also in bad too.  God is in control of our lives that He allows suffering so we will be molded into a better person.

What is the best way to pray?  Before, I used to keep my own prayer books.  This is like a journal but instead of writing “Dear Diary…” I always start with “Dear God”.  In it, I would write down events that happened, my fears and doubts, my plans and goals, my loneliness and happiness-my life.  It is just like writing to a friend and that friend is God.  You may not want to keep prayer books on your own but for me, the best way to pray is with sincerity, humbleness and with faith in God.  You will be surprise as you open yourself to God through prayer, peace will settle in your heart.  “Do not worry about anything, but pray and ask God for everything you need. Always giving thanks.  And God’s peace that transcends all understanding will keep your heart and mind in Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 4:6-7)

 

