For someone like me who has been working pretty hard these past months, I consider my family and I truly blessed to be given the chance to visit a wonderful place in the south, Cebu City.

Even several decades back when I was a teen, Cebu was already considered a very progressive city outside Metro Manila (the capital city of the Philippines).  In the Philippine history, Cebu, particularly Mactan island played a very significant role as being the very first place in the Philippines discovered by Magellan, a Spanish conquistador.  During the administration of Pres. Gloria Macapagal Arroyo, Cebu was considered the “Malacañang of the South”.  The reason for putting up this office was due to the fact that the ex-President wanted to show the Filipino people that the government does not only focus to the wants and needs of people from Luzon but also people living in Visayas and Mindanao.

The trip was happy and a much-needed time to relax and unwind.

